

## State of Louisiana

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
P.O. BOX 94005
BATON ROUGE
70804-9005

Jeff Landry Attorney General

> Louisiana Sexual Assault Oversight Commission Minutes March 14, 2023 1:00pm

Louisiana Department of Justice
Office of Attorney General Jeff Landry
1885 N. Third St. – Livingston Building
First Floor – Clermont Conference Room
Baton Rouge, LA 70802

### **Board Members/Designees:**

PRESENT - John Sinquefield, Dr. Randall Brown, Terrell Kent, Wanjennia Atkins, Olivia Jones, Heidi Martin, Melissa Mendoza, Senator Beth Mizell, Erica Sparacino, Amanda Tonkovich, Tammy Vincent, Greg Waddell, Michelle Jackson, Rafael deCastro and Morgan Lamandre

**Other Attendees:** Jeddie Smith, Kim Wall, Monica Taylor, Chad Guidry, Lt. Sheila Celious, Natalie Sharp, Katie Hunter-Lowrey, Mary Patricia Ray, Jennifer Ray, and Scott Whitfield

#### • Call to Order and Roll Call

- Executive Assistant Kim Wall called the meeting to order, made roll call and confirmed a quorum of members.

#### • Chairman's Report

- Opening remarks by Chairman John Sinquefield

#### • Approval of the Minutes

- Minutes of the November 15, 2022 meeting were unanimously adopted.

#### • Topics of Discussion

- Captain Chad Guidry informed the Commission that Senator Mizell will sponsor a bill regarding funding for kit tracking
- Commission members discussed Crime Victims Reparations limits on medical and FME reimbursements and CVR funds.
- Commission member Morgan Lamandre led a discussion regarding rape culture.
- Katie Hunter-Lowery, Louisiana Survivors for Reform, gave a presentation on the Justice for Survivors Act.

## - Public Comment

- Public comment was invited and was received on all issues.

# - Assign Tasks & Schedule Next Meeting

- Chairman John Sinquefield requested and received permission of the commission to set the next meeting for July 20, 2023 at 1:00pm in the Claremont Conference Room

Adjourned